Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

Archive for October 9, 2011

Puppets, Pickles and underWear


Sometimes life gives you lemons. This week I have dealt with a tree-load of lemons. So I have spent my week trying to make lemonade. Since I was busy my puppet ORANGE’ volunteered to write my blog for me. I hope you enjoy it.

Hi. My name is Orange’. I am a puppet, yes that is right a P U P P E T. I have some secrets to share with you. Please don’t tell anyone. I know you will keep this to yourself. Ok.

Secret #1: Puppets have food issues.

Mrs Whyte's Kosher Dill Pickle

Image via Wikipedia

This is shocking but true. We puppets have a natural eating disorder–no organs, no teeth, no working tongue, no saliva, etc…. I didn’t always understand this. I was at a family gathering one time and decided to take a bite from a delicious looking pickle. That was a bad idea, have you ever tried to get dill pickle smell off your face? I’ll never do that again. Another time I decided to join in a watermelon seed spitting contest—-this does not work without spit!!!! I did win the cracker-whistle contest though. I don’t understand why it is hard for people to chew up a cracker and then whistle!!!

Gloves for Service Men

Image by staceyboo2 via Flickr

Secret #2: Puppets don’t wear underwear.

This one is kind of embarrassing and I hope you don’t tell anyone. I never leave the house wearing clean underwear in case of an accident. Shocking right!! In fact for many years I didn’t have legs. This is appalling but true. And even after I got legs, I still didn’t wear underwear. I know what you are thinking. How can you go out in public without underwear? It is easy; I make my puppeteer wear underwear for me. That’s right, I make my puppeteer put on a glove and I call it puppet underwear. Pretty ingenious isn’t it?

Secret #3: Puppets need people.

Wow it feels good to get that off my chest. You see puppets don’t actually move without help. We need a “hand” from people to come alive. I know this is hard to understand, but believe me it is true. We are a very needy group of individuals. It is hard to believe we are so funny and so helpless at the same time. When I think about it, I realize that people are like puppets. Puppets rely on people for life and people rely on God for life.

Genesis 2:7 “And the Lord God formed man of the dust of the ground, and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life; and man became a living being.” (NKJV)

So next time you see a puppet remember how much we rely on you and how much you rely on God for life. Well, that’s all I have to say. Ms. Kitty will be back next week with more. I hope you enjoy your week.