Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

You Can’t but We Can


As I lay in bed one night I thought about all the things that I cannot do. It did not matter whether the reason I could not do it was strength, endurance or just plain not understanding how to do it. I was stuck in the mode of I can’t. Sometimes the reason we cannot do something is because what we are trying to do is not in our realm of doing but is up to others. We can only knock on the door, ask the question and hope for the answer. Finding a job is a good example.

But then there are the things that need to be done around our homestead that I cannot do at the moment. Some of those things I lack the physical strength and/or the know-how to complete. As I laid in bed adding up the things I cannot do and getting more frustrated by the moment, I began to pray. After a while I heard that small still voice tell me, “You can’t but We can.” That is when I realized I was doing things with my own strength and my own understanding, which was causing me to get but frustrated. It stopped and reminded me that doing things with God would get me where I need to go.

I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

Philippians 4:13 NKJV

Trust in the Lord with all your heart,
And lean not on your own understanding;
In all your ways acknowledge Him,
And He shall direct your paths.

Proverbs 3:5-6 NKJV

Scripture is a great reminder that we cannot do anything without God. Sometimes inspiration also comes from other sources also. I was standing in our kitchen prepping food for the week listening to some older country music and a song just really spoke to me. It is called “There’s No Way” written by John Jarrard, Will Robinson, Lisa Palas and recorded by Alabama. Some of the lyrics are so appropriate to a beautiful relationship with our heavenly Father. I am going to change one word and show you how it struck me at that moment.

There’s no way I can make it without you
There’s no way that I’d even try
If I had to survive without you in my life
I know I wouldn’t last a day
Oh, babe God, there’s no way

I never knew until you
What I was missing
Now you say “Forever”
I find my heart, it’s listening
Yes, I’m listening

There’s No Way, by John Jarrard, Will Robinson, Lisa Palas

I believe this to be true. This song was written as a love song between humans, but I can see these verses as an eternal love song to God. I am always amazed at the different ways God speaks to me. Sometimes it is in nature, sometimes through song, sometimes though people, sometimes through the Bible, the possibilities are endless. If we open our ears and eyes we will see and hear what He is saying. I hope that you will take time to stop and pray and watch how God opens your understanding. I will leave you with a prayer. Enjoy your week and I will be back with more.

…that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory, may give to you the spirit of wisdom and revelation in the knowledge of Him,  the eyes of your understanding being enlightened; that you may know what is the hope of His calling, what are the riches of the glory of His inheritance in the saints, and what is the exceeding greatness of His power toward us who believe, according to the working of His mighty power which He worked in Christ when He raised Him from the dead and seated Him at His right hand in the heavenly places, far above all principality and power and might and dominion, and every name that is named, not only in this age but also in that which is to come.

And He put all things under His feet, and gave Him to be head over all things to the church, which is His body, the fullness of Him who fills all in all.

Ephesians 1:17-23 NKJV

Leave a comment