Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

Thankful for God


14 “Now fear the Lord and serve him with all faithfulness. Throw away the gods your ancestors worshiped beyond the Euphrates River and in Egypt, and serve the Lord. 15 But if serving the Lord seems undesirable to you, then choose for yourselves this day whom you will serve, whether the gods your ancestors served beyond the Euphrates, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land you are living. But as for me and my household, we will serve the Lord.”

Joshua 24:14-15 NIV

20 If you forsake the Lord and serve foreign gods, he will turn and bring disaster on you and make an end of you, after he has been good to you.”

Joshua 24:20 NIV

But as for me and my household, we will serve the Lord… I love that statement and I believe it. No matter what happens in this world if I can keep my eyes on and trust in God everything will work out. Through all trials and tribulations God will be there. Through fire, flood, war, plague and whatever else happens, serving God is what matters.

2020 has been a year to remember, though I believe most of us want to forget it. It has also been a year where many people have gotten a heightened awareness of God and His love. And for that I am very thankful. The Israelite nation had been through 40 years in the desert and before that had experienced the deliverance from Egypt. But they had to make a decision if they were going to follow God while they entered the promised land.

It seems that when things settle down a bit people forget who got them through the storm. Let’s always remember that it is God’s grace and mercy that gets us through. We may be in for more rough times but with God we will be able to make it through if we faithfully follow Him.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart

    and lean not on your own understanding;

in all your ways submit to him,

    and he will make your paths straight.

Proverbs 3:5-6 NIV

I pray that you will enjoy this month remembering and being thankful for what God has given us and what He has gotten us through so far. Remember that He is in control, for that I am grateful.

Leave a comment