Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

Archive for October 15, 2017

Living Without Hope


HOPE in darkness

How can you live without hope?

I have been pondering this question lately.  I don’t have a reference point for not having hope. As a child even when I was sick I always believed that I was well.  I remember one time when I was in eighth grade and suffering from something the doctors were puzzled about. I had to spend time in the hospital for tests, back then they made you stay in the hospital for as many days as it took to give you all the tests to figure out what was wrong. When I got out my mother was so glad that she bought me new pants. For us that was a really big thing. You only got new clothes when you totally wore the old ones out or outgrew them.

Through good and bad times I have been blessed with a faith in God. So I don’t understand those who do not believe in Him. I don’t know how to live without knowing Him. Daily I feel compassion toward those who do not know Him or have rejected Him because of what others have told them. I grieve over the many people who embrace ways to escape from the reality of this life just to survive another day. Is that really living? I say that it is not.

There will always be times of fear and doubt and times when things are really dark, but in those times we should always remember that we have HOPE as long as we believe in God and what Jesus did for us on that cross. Jesus did not come to the world to become a celebrity. He came to make a way where there seemed to be no way for salvation. He came to bring forgiveness because He knew the nature of man. He came to give us HOPE for an eternal life with Him and the Father.

It is much easier to live rather than just surviving another day when in the midst of the darkness you can see a light that directs you. If we could see what God sees we would be able to understand everything, however God does not show us everything so we have to trust in what He has given us and believe in the promise of our future with Him.

Join me in asking God for His perspective and to show His light in the midst of any darkness. Our world is full of darkness but we are called to be the light. My prayer this week is that we will provide the light to the world that is too dark for comfort.  I will be back next week with more.

