Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

Live in the Moment


img_2811As I drove up the ramp toward the interstate I focused on moving over to the far left lane. By the time I was successfully in the far left lane another two lanes entered to my left and I made my move one more lane over to end up in the right place for the upcoming exit of the three right lanes. This lane would end up being the far left lane of loop 12 which is the highway I wanted to be on.

Imagine now that you are me driving in what is a middle lane as I was. This lane can go to I-35 to the left or Loop 12 to the right, before the lane splits. As you approach this unique position on the road, a dark colored van on your right suddenly decides that it is a good idea to come into your lane while half of the van is still right next to you. You put on your brakes just enough to let this driver make the turn in front of you to go down I-35. This maneuver might be upsetting enough but it didn’t end the excitement. Because when you put on your brakes there is a small gap in front of you. Immediately you see across the double white triangle area to your left, a white Lexus SUV moving into a not so large gap in front of you to go down Loop 12. What these cars did to me I call the “X” maneuver and my car was just below the crossing point. Thank God there was no collision.

Anyone in this circumstance would be really living in the moment totally aware of what is going on and almost seeing things in slow motion. It is easy to live in the moment when you are in a crisis situation. As I prayed the day after this happened I heard “live in the moment” and I began to contemplate what that would mean for me and how that would change what I was doing. I immediately looked down at my phone and realized that I have become accustomed to living some days with eyes on my phone instead of eyes on the wonders around me. I also realized that sometimes I get too focused on what needs to be done and miss everything else.

So, I opened my eyes and mind and I went on Saturday errands and tried to notice the people around me and respond to them. I had a good conversation with Vanessa, the check out lady at Wal-Mart. I noticed the cars and people around me in the store and at the gas station. I noticed the beautiful colors of the grass and flowers blooming. My daughter and her family came over and I spent the whole time focused on them not concerned about chores that needed to be done. I thank God for challenging me to live in the moment and to make the most of each moment because we never know how many of them we will have in this life.

James 4:14 (NIV)

Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes.

Would you join me in putting down your distractions and living life with those around you? Take some time to thank God for all you have. I will be back next week with more.

 

Leave a Reply

