Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

Here’s to Ruth


image-17I did not publish a blog last week because I was in the midst of a sad occasion and many miles from my computer. We put my mother in law to rest on Monday. She is now peacefully in her eternal reward.

Her name is Ruth, which means “friend, companion”. She really lived up to that name. When I think about her my main memories are about the kindness that she showed toward me from the first day that I met her. As a child and young adult I struggled with one on one conversation with those older than me, but she made conversing easy.

Ruth was friendly, loving, kind, interested in the lives of others and would do what she could to help those in need. One of my favorite things about her was that she was down to earth without frills, which made her all the more loveable and easy to talk to. She was hard working and always had some project going, usually quilts. She never let anyone who came to her home leave hungry, and she was a great cook. She was strong in character and resolve.  I never had to worry about my children misbehaving at her house because she was quick to correct their bad behavior and when she did they remembered and were better the next time.

Proverbs 29:15

The rod and reproof give wisdom, But a child who gets his own way brings shame to his mother.

She helped me tremendously during the brief sickness and death of both of my parents within two years of each other. When she became my children’s only living grandparent she took on that role with honor and loved them even more. As my children grew older they got closer to her and never missed the opportunity to visit her even if it was just for a few minutes. She loved those visits. Later as parents themselves, they would bring the great grandchildren to her so they could experience the wonder that was “Grandma Palmer”.

I hope that I can be as kind and accepting and loving as she was as I attempt to be Grandma to my six grandchildren. It was a rare occasion to see her without  that beaming smile on her face.

If I could say one last thing to her I would say “Ruth you will be missed here on earth by many and we look forward to reuniting with you someday in heaven.”

God gave me a wonderful mother-in-law and sometimes it takes the passing of a wonderful person like her to remind us that we should truly appreciate our parents, grandparents and other relatives while they are still with us so we don’t regret what we did not think to say while they were alive.

Enjoy your week and I will be back next week with more.

Leave a Reply

