Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

The Boot


img_1443After years of struggle with ankle and foot pain my daughter convinced me to try again to find a doctor who could help.  She gave me a list of possible doctors and I chose one that looked promising. That call resulted in a referral to another more specialized doctor with whom I made the appointment. After the first appointment I bought and wore a brace, for around two weeks but it caused more pain so I called the doctor back and we moved on to an MRI.  On Thursday I got the results and the decision was made to put me into boot for 30 days and pray that the immobilization and rest would heal the problems.

The boot comes with its own problems. It basically is a platform that you walk on which makes one leg longer than the other and can make you unbalanced. It also rocks as you move, if you push your heal down your toes will rock up and if you put your toes down you heal rocks up. This keeps you ankle from bending and allows your foot to rest while allowing you to walk. To combat the uneven walking I purchased an “evenup” sole to put under my other shoe. This helps to compensate and keep me more even and less likely to cause back, hip and knee problems.

Walking with the boot is a challenge. Going up steps it feels like it weighs a ton. Walking on uneven surfaces can cause your knee to go backwards and makes it feel like you could fall over. This unsteadiness reminds me of life in general. Sometimes I am unsure of myself and it feels like I am rocking back and forth on uneven ground as I walk really slow hoping not to fall. Sometimes my confidence is high and I feel that I am on solid flat ground where I go safely at a faster pace. However, God does not always give me a flat concrete path to walk on. Sometimes He gives me the rocky road with a rocking boot, just to see what I will do. Maybe it is to test me to see what I have learned from life and His word.

Having this boot has slowed me down more than the pain in my ankle did before. But going slow is not always a bad thing. It helps me to re-evaluate what I am doing and try to minimize my steps by thinking ahead more and making fewer trips. It also helps me to depend on the kindness of others which is important. Sometimes accepting help is more important that the pride of doing it yourself. It allows me to be on the other side of this scripture:

Acts 20:35 (NASB)

In everything I showed you that by working hard in this manner you must help the weak and remember the words of the Lord Jesus, that He Himself said, ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive.’

By graciously receiving what others give to me I am allowing them to be blessed. This is a hard lesson to learn, but I am working on it. Enjoy your week and I will be back next week with more.

Comments on: "The Boot" (1)

  1. jacquie85 said:

    Really proud of you mom! It’s hard to make yourself less mobile and rely on others. Sometimes harder than helping others. I hope this brace brings healing! Love you!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

