Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

Don’t be Afraid to Ask


broken-can-opener

Sometimes things break right when you are in the middle of something. Case in point, my can opener broke right in the middle of opening a can and I could not get it off or open the can. I tried a pair of plyers to help but it did not work. So I walked to where my wonderful husband was and showed him the can with the opener stuck and the broken handle. I asked him “Any ideas?”. He immediately told me to get the crescent wrench from his workbench in the garage. So I did and I was able to open the can and complete the meal prepartion. I thank God for knowing who to ask when I can’t quite figure something out.

Life isn’t always as easy as finding a cresent wrench to fix a problem. Sometimes it is much more difficult and no matter who we ask no-one seems to have the answer. If you reach that point and you haven’t ask God for help then I would say it is definitly time to ask. God promises that He will guide us and lead us. He promises to never leave or forsake us. So what harm can come from asking for help when you just don’t know what to do? What is the worst thing that can happen? Nothing worse than what you are already experiencing by not knowing your answer. And if you won’t be worse off by asking then you got nothing to lose.

Matthew 7:7 (NASB)

“Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you.

In my life I try to follow these steps:

  1. Pray for understanding and my need.
  2. Search my heart for anything that would be holding me back from hearing what God has to say
  3. And read God’s word because most of the answers are in there. It might not be the exact situation but the principal of what you need to know is in there.

Don’t be afraid to ask for help, we all need it from time to time. Enjoy your week and I will be back next week with more.

 

Leave a Reply

