Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

Light and Distance


lightAs I sat down in bed and began to read by the light of a small lamp, I realized I could not clearly see the words on the page and was straining my eyes. I tried bringing the book closer to my face but that just increased the blurriness of the words. So I held the book farther from my face but the words were just too far away.  I changed positions and brought the book closer to the lamp, but that position was way too uncomfortable.  I reluctantly got up and turned the overhead light on and was amazed how the words on the page were immediately legible.

It is amazing how having a book at just the right distance from your eyes and with enough light to illuminate the words can make all the difference in the world in your understanding of the words you are reading.  I know recently at work I have had to use a magnifying glass in order to read some very small print and handwriting.  I am thankful for the magnifying glass that helps me solve the mystery of what the words on the page are so I can do my job.

When life gets complicated and unsure maybe it is because there is not enough light to shine on the pages in the book of our lives to see the way. If we can’t read the words on the instructional pages we spend our lives winging it and get stuck and confused.  Sometimes all it takes is a little more light from God to get us to where the book is just the right distance from our eyes and we have our reading glasses on (if you need them like me) so we can read the instructions that will get us where we need to go.

Psalm 119:105 (NASB)

 Your word is a lamp to my feet
And a light to my path.

God’s word is the Light that guides us with His divine wisdom and direction. God can see more than we can and from His perspective our problems, struggles, confusions and messes look much different. He sees the big picture and does not have to use a magnifying glass to understand what is going on. With His Word to light our path we will be directed to the right place.

Psalm 37:23 (NASB)

The steps of a man are established by the Lord,
And He delights in his way.

It all comes down to trusting God to direct us, no matter the circumstances or situations.

Proverbs 3:5-8

Trust in the Lord with all your heart
And do not lean on your own understanding.
In all your ways acknowledge Him,
And He will make your paths straight.
Do not be wise in your own eyes;
Fear the Lord and turn away from evil.
It will be healing to your body
And refreshment to your bones.

Every week God amazes me with His wisdom and understanding and His allowing me to share what He has shared with me. I grow and learn each day and week and year. In this New Year I hope that we will grow together and enjoy this life that God has given us. Enjoy your week and I will be back next week with more.

Leave a Reply

