Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

GPS and God


psalm-37-23-frozen-treeHappy New year!!!! The end of 2016 and the beginning of 2017 have been a whirl wind for me. I haven’t been able to sit long enough to write a blog until now.  With the New Year came an arctic front that brought just enough snow and ice to this southern location to cause a commuting mess. Needless to say long commutes got a lot longer because of ice on the roads.

Leaving work early is usually a treat but this afternoon it was not. Bundling up in my heaviest jacket and gloves I headed into the cold. With the GPS already telling me it would take at least 2 hours to get home, which is only 36 miles, I settled my mind for a long slow drive. Before leaving the parking lot I set the GPS and briefly checked the unusual route, knowing that it would probably change a few times before I made my way home. After speaking to Bob briefly I started on the trip.

The parking lot was ok, no ice. I looked at my first road and realized that there was a long line—which I have never seen before. A truck let me onto the road and immediately my car began to slide.  Calming myself I began to repeat to myself, don’t touch the brakes on ice, don’t accelerate quickly. I love my little mustang but it has a tendency to slide easily on wet pavement, so I knew ice would be a problem.

Usually I get a bit nervous when the GPS keeps changing my route and at first this was the case however I believe it took me the quickest route. There was a lot of ice on bridges and overpasses and on streets, under trees and ramps. My route changed several times and I drove on some streets in the city that I have never taken. I passed near the interstate a few times and even got on once just to get right back off onto another side street that was moving faster.

In the two hours it took to get to my house I saw several wrecked vehicles on the slick roads. The first one I saw was a pickup truck with a trailer that had jackknifed in the left lane, then there was the car turned backwards at the beginning of a high ramp and many others as I drove on. Each incident made me a little more cautious.

As I drove I prayed for safety for myself and Bob. I wanted us both to make it home safely and relax. Despite high stress levels while driving in these conditions we both made it home safely and for that I praise God.

Spending that intense time just listening to the GPS for further direction to get me through that tough drive is like what we should be doing with God. We have all had tough times where we feel danger lurking and see the carnage of life all around us. In these times it is important that we do like I did to get home, get in the driver’s seat, turn on our engines and move forward while listening to God to show us the best path to get to our desired destination.

Psalm 37:23 (NASB)

23 The steps of a man are established by the Lord,
And He delights in his way.

Enjoy your winter wonderland and I will be back next week with more.

Leave a Reply

