Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

The Truth


the-truthI grew up in a culture that said there is absolute truth. I was taught to obey the law and follow the rules. There is comfort knowing that there are standards to live by and that everyone except “criminals” follow the rules. I was taught that God is real.

Over the years I have lived my life knowing beyond the shadow of a doubt that this is true. It saddens me to see that not everyone was raised this way and not everyone believes this. It also explains why our society is in such a mess.

In John 8, Jesus has a long discourse regarding the truth. Jesus speaking to Jews who were believers gives them direction in vs. 31 and 32.

John 8:31-32 (NASB) So Jesus was saying to those Jews who had believed Him, “If you continue in My word, then you are truly disciples of Mine; and you will know the truth, and the truth will make you free.”

They did not believe Him and started questioning His statement because their experience did not bear out what He had said. They did not understand that they were slaves to sin.

John 8:33-38 (NASB)  Jesus answered them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, everyone who commits sin is the slave of sin.  The slave does not remain in the house forever; the son does remain forever. So if the Son makes you free, you will be free indeed.  I know that you are Abraham’s descendants; yet you seek to kill Me, because My word has no place in you.  I speak the things which I have seen with My Father; therefore you also do the things which you heard from your father.”

Even though they believed some of what Jesus said, He understood they did not understand or want to hear THE TRUTH because it was too far from what they had been living and experiencing.  It is still the TRUTH no matter what the experience in life is. If you live under deception your experience will not line up with THE TRUTH. But if you follow Jesus’ instructions from John 8:32-33 and continue in His word you will line up with the TRUTH, it will be evident in your life and set you free from sin.

Your truth and my truth and the other guy’s truth are all subjective and may change from day to day. We all need a TRUTH that never changes in order to guide us through this life. Take time to seek out THE TRUTH by reading and living the Bible in your life.

Enjoy your week and I will be back next week with more.

Leave a Reply

