Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

Life Facing Jesus


eyes-on-jesusIt has been a challenging week for me this week. Thankfully after having a doctor visit on Thursday I am on medication that seems to be helping my back problem. I am walking a little faster and my legs don’t feel so heavy. A pinched nerve is no fun but the medicine should reduce the swelling and help.

When it feels like my body is falling apart it becomes difficult to step away from the pain and problems and get a better perspective. But I was blessed this week to be able to step back and realize that I am a spirit that lives in this body, no matter how good or bad the body is feeling. I am not the body, I am the spirit. This has allowed me to better deal with the pain and frustration of the physical ailments that have tried to take over my whole life.

I am learning how to deal with not being able to do everything I want to do. I am learning how to slow down and be more careful in my physical choices. I have been trying for years to become more physically active, but it would seem every time I feel I am making progress I take two steps back with injuries. This could be depressing if I let it, but I choose to realize that this body is only a temporary home for my spirit. I will do my best to keep it as healthy as possible but when it finally gives out I will gladly give it up to spend the rest of my eternity with God.

I know that there are people who are struggling much more than I am and for them I offer a prayer that they could be able to step away from the pain and suffering and realize the pain, like everything else in this world, is temporary.

The Hymn “Turn your eyes upon Jesus” by Helen Howarth Lemmel really speaks to this.

O soul, are you weary and troubled?

No light in the darkness you see?

There’s light for a look at the Savior,

And life more abundant and free.

Turn your eyes upon Jesus

Look full in His wonderful face,

And the things of earth will grow strangely dim,

In the light of His glory and grace.

Oh that we could spend our every day in this frame of mind. For if we did this world would be a better place for all of us. Enjoy your week and I will be back next week with more.

Leave a Reply

