Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

Pace Doesn’t Matter


IMG_1125[1].JPGI decided to take Nemo out for a walk this morning. We have not been for a walk in a few weeks because of my physical issues. But this morning I was struggling with trying to think in the house and decided I just needed to walk. So I hooked him up to his leash and started a rather short and slow walk. We left out the back gate and walked down the alley to the field.

As I stood next to the field I looked up at the sky and the familiar area. I realized that I had been walking to and past this spot for around 18 years now. It has been a spot where I have encountered God and His inspiration several times. I cried at that thought.

As we turned and walked back toward the house I realized how much trouble Nemo was having adjusting to my pace. He would start getting way ahead of me and then have to stop and wait for me to catch up. Or then he would walk too slow and I would pass him up, then he would go too fast again.

In our society it appears that everything that needs to be done must be done fast. We are put under so much pressure to get it and get it quickly. God doesn’t call us to walk at a certain pace, to go fast or slow. And no matter what the pace, God is everywhere. The interesting thing that I have learned is that when I rush around I don’t take as much time for God, but when my pace slows I allow my mind to contemplate His goodness and mercy. That is a good thing.

Psalm 139:7-12 (NKJV)

7 Where can I go from Your Spirit?
Or where can I flee from Your presence?
If I ascend into heaven, You are there;
If I make my bed in hell, behold, You are there.
If I take the wings of the morning,
And dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea,
10 Even there Your hand shall lead me,
And Your right hand shall hold me.
11 If I say, “Surely the darkness shall fall on me,”
Even the night shall be light about me;
12 Indeed, the darkness shall not hide from You,
But the night shines as the day;
The darkness and the light are both alike to You.

So maybe it is time to find a way to slow the pace and enjoy your week and I will be back next week with more.

Comments on: "Pace Doesn’t Matter" (2)

  1. jacquie85 said:

    Great reminder. We get so caught up in doing things to do things. Sometimes we need to stop and enjoy His presence.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kathycagle said:

    “…when I rush around I don’t take as much time for God, but when my pace slows I allow my mind to contemplate His goodness and mercy.” I’ll remember this. Sooo true! Thank you. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

