Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

Slow


img_2906Have you ever been to the grocery store trying to quickly get what you need and get on to the many other things you would rather be doing? And when you were in that crowded store you found yourself behind someone blocking what you needed. This person was walking slowly and appearing to just ponder over everything on the shelf for what seems like forever. Only to finally walk away with nothing, leaving you wonder why.

I can offer a possible answer to the why question. On Saturday I was struggling with some unusual back and leg issues and needed to shop. I was determined that I would be able to get the groceries on my own. I was a wonderful sight. I put on my hat to cover up my hair that was out of control due to a bad hair day. I attached my Tens machine to my lower back and put on a long tee shirt to hide the machine and it’s wires. I figured if I had trouble moving I could just turn the machine on and it would help. And as usual it did help.

However my pace was very slow. I walked even slower than those electric carts. And if you have ever been stuck behind one of them you know that is slow. Due to the issues I found myself stopping and leaning on my cart and to not draw attention to myself I pretended to be interested in what was on the shelf next to my rest stop. Yes, I walked away from the area without picking anything up most of the time. I did try not to block anyone.

I found one advantage to going through the store at a much slower pace, I did not have to back track too much because I could better inspect what was on the shelves and find what I needed. The disadvantage is that it took a whole lot longer.

I think sometimes God allows us to experience not being able to go fast so that we can better appreciate things around us and realize that rushing just adds stress. I hope that I do not have to go that slow again in the store, but you never know. This experience has also shown me that people who go through stores slowly might have a really good reason and maybe the  next time I am tempted to get upset with them I should stop and pray for them.

It just goes to show you that what you see on the outside is not always what is going on in the inside. Remember to be patient.

Matthew 22:37-40 (NKJV)

37 Jesus said to him, “‘You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your mind.’38 This is the first and great commandment. 39 And the second is like it: ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself.’ 40 On these two commandments hang all the Law and the Prophets.”

Enjoy your week and I will be back next week with more.

Leave a Reply

