Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

September 11, 2001


img_0930-1This day has become a day of remembrance for everyone in the United States of America. We remember those who were killed by terrorists. We remember where we were that day and exactly what was going on when we heard the news.

I remember vividly that I was the only adult with around 7 students. We had started the day and Ashley had arrived a little late. Once she was in the room we were about to start the day with the pledge. Ashley told us there was a plane that flew into the World Trade Center in New York. She wanted to turn on the TV. I told her we would do opening exercises and then turn it on to see what was going on. When we turned it on and started to watch the second plane flew into a tower. One was bad enough but the second one put us all on edge. We then heard about the plane that went down in Pennsylvania.

I knew as the only adult around I had to keep my composure. This was very difficult. And after watching the TV for a while I could see it was having a nerve racking effect on the youngest student. I decided it would be better to get back to school work, but first we should go outside and try to run off some of the anxiety that everyone was feeling.

September 11, 2001 changed our world. It changed everything for our country and affected my family in many ways. No I was not at ground zero for any of the events. But I have family members who served in Iraq and Afghanistan and in the U.S. homeland in the military.  I have a family member who is now a fire fighter since coming out of the military.

After 9/11 the security and freedom we felt in this country was rocked to the core. We had to find a new way to make sense of the world. In my lifetime I thought all the wars were fought in other countries. I had never experienced terror like what 9/11 brought us.

A lot of us had to find our peace again. We had to re-evaluate where our hope came from. We had to re-evaluate our lives and our steps forward. One thing I learned through all of this is that God is still in control. No matter what happens, no matter where it happens God knows and will help us through it. Join me today in reflecting on what God has done through this tragedy.

Leave a Reply

