Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

Sharing


jack and rex playingIn the life of a child sharing is something that is emphasized and difficult. I witnessed an amazing thing this morning as I watch two of my grandsons with a snack in the kitchen. Bob and I had bought some Red IS Apricots—first time I have ever seen these. They are an apricot that has been pollinated by a plum. We tried them and they have a sweet and tart flavor that can make you pucker but want more. So we decided to let Jack and Rex try them this morning. I cut off about 1/8 piece for each of them and Jack really loved them. I could not tell if Rex did or not but he ate what I gave him. So I cut up the rest of the apricot for Jack and put it in a bowl.

Rex decided that he wanted to eat more but Jack didn’t really want to share his, so I cut another one for Rex. In the mean time Jack finished eating all of his. They sat on the kitchen floor with both of their bowls and Rex proceeded to take pieces out of his bowl and give them to Jack. I asked Jack to make sure Rex got some and so as Rex gave pieces to Jack, Jack would put a piece in Rex’s mouth. It was an amazing time of sharing a really good snack.

Oh that life could be that simple every day. Let me dream a little.

  • Wouldn’t it be wonderful if our desires were fulfilled just by showing someone what we wanted?
  • Wouldn’t it be amazing if drivers on the highways would respect each other by driving safely and courteously?
  • Wouldn’t it be nice if politicians would just tell us the truth about themselves so we can make an informed decision?
  • Wouldn’t it be great if we allowed ourselves to have so much compassion for others that we would share the truth that we know with them so they have an opportunity to believe?
  • Wouldn’t it be awesome if everyone took time to consider their eternity and take steps to insure their salvation?

Wouldn’t it be nice? This life is too short to spend being busy and never taking time to consider the future. God is our hope and future. In Jeremiah 29:11 He says:

“For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.”

God knows what we need and has a plan for us all we need to do is take time to listen and accept Him. On this Labor Day weekend try to take some time and consider your future. Spend some time in the Bible to see what might be in store for you. Enjoy your weekend and week and I will be back next week with more.

Comments on: "Sharing" (1)

  1. Well said. Sometimes we all need to sit back and think about how we can positively impact our world.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

