Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

Are you Hooked?


hooksI have been trying to learn more  and hone my writing skills in order to write picture books. I took a webinar this week and one of the action items I was given to do was to read my manuscript and write a hook sentence. This is one sentence that captures the plot and theme of your story, without giving away the ending. It compels the reader to want to read the whole manuscript.

I started thinking about this and know that it will take a while to get it right. Then I paused and wondered if I had to narrow my life down to one sentence what would it be? How could I condense my years of life and dreams and motivations down into one sentence? Is it even possible? I realized that usually it is either at award ceremonies or someone’s funerals that people try to sum up a life. But what if I were to do it today?

For me my life is summed up in the words of a friend who told me during our conversation, “You just want to do the right thing.” Thanks Kathy. That really sums up my life in a short sentence. It does not expand on the ideas but gets to the core of who I am. To make it a hook sentence I would have to expand a little on it.

Kitty is a Christian who desires to give Glory to God and do the right thing throughout her life, but when life gets in the way amazing things happen.

Are you hooked on following my life? Would you read a blog based on this statement? If yes then I have done a good job. If no then I need to keep working on it.

Jesus came to seek and save the lost and through trials, temptations and triumphs He made a way for all of us to be saved.  How about that hook sentence for Jesus? Would you look into His life because of it? To find out more about this salvation you can read His book, The HOLY BIBLE.

Now I want to give you a challenge. Write a hook sentence for your life. It might take a while but I think it would be a good lesson in discovery for all of us. Make sure you convey your journey and plot for your life so far without giving away the end. And share your sentence with me in the comments. I would love to know what you come up with.

Enjoy your week and I will be back next week with more.

Leave a Reply

