Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

What to do? Psalm52


PSALM 52 8 9Psalm 52:8-9 NKJV

8But I am like a green olive tree in the house of God;
I trust in the mercy of God forever and ever.
I will praise You forever,
Because You have done it;
And in the presence of Your saints
I will wait on Your name, for it is good.

I have been meditating on Psalm 52 for a few months now off and on. My main focus is the ending with verse 8 and 9. You will notice that I have focused on the verbs related to these verses. Sometimes we read scripture and do not know how it applies to our lives. While praying one morning it hit me that if I focused on the actions I would know what to do to apply the Word to my life.

So here goes. “I am like a green olive tree in the house of God.” Why would I desire to be like an olive tree? I could think of some reasons but I believe the passage here relates to the fact that olives trees create olives and from olives come olive oil and olive oil has many uses in the house of God. So the take away from this part is that I am useful to God and must allow God to use me as He wills.

“I trust in the mercy of God forever and ever.” Trust is very important because without trust I will not follow God. In order to trust I have to remove all doubting thoughts and dwell on the truth from God’s word. The things that He has done are so enormous and all move toward the same purpose that they become trustworthy. God will never leave or forsake me. God can heal, deliver and save. When we talk about God’s mercy to me it means that if I mess up He will allow me to repent and be made right with Him.

“I will praise You forever, because You have done it.” Praising God is easy in the good times. But the real test is how to praise God when everything is going wrong. I have learned the only way to do this is to step back out of the circumstances and realize that God is in control and I can trust Him. Sometimes I need to look at my past and remember what He did before in order to believe what He will do again. And if I trust Him I will praise Him.

“And In the presence of Your saints, I will wait on Your name, for it is good.” I wondered what waiting on God’s name meant. But then I broke it down and realized that God’s name is His character. In the bible there are many names of God and each one has to do with what God has done and who He is. To me waiting on His name is waiting to see the manifestation of what He has done in the past and will do in my future.

I believe there is a lot more to get out of these verses and this is only a start on that revelation. We serve a good God and serving Him means we should be useful, trust, praise and wait. Over the course of my life I am striving to attain this purpose. I am walking daily to make my way to the ultimate meeting with the creator of the universe. Won’t you join me in the quest?

I will be back next week with more.

Leave a Reply

