Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

Mess Ups


future good driverPicture yourself driving on a two lane road with a speed limit of 45mph, there is traffic going both ways and it is marked as no passing. Now you are driving around 40mph and about to accelerate to 45mph when a car pulls up behind you and decides to pass. Three car lengths in front of you in the oncoming lane is a car. The driver behind you pulls out into oncoming traffic. You realize this could end up badly and move your car over toward the shoulder to make room for the terrible driver who appears to want to wreck their car. Somehow there is no collision and you watch as the car reenters the correct lane and then pulls up onto the next car in line and proceeds to once again pull out into oncoming traffic.

Imagine your relief that there was not an accident but your fear that someone might be killed by this driver if they are not stopped. This was my experience yesterday afternoon as I headed to the store. I wondered what the problem was with this driver and why they would risk their life and the lives of others to get one more spot.

I once made a similar mistake on a two lane highway. It was just after my mother’s funeral and my children and I were returning home. Early in the morning I pulled out to pass a very slow moving vehicle and realized someone was coming toward me about a mile or so away. I managed to get back into my lane but only after I entered a no passing zone. I was then pulled over by a police officer who happened to see the bad decision I made. After a warning he let me go and I no longer cared how long it took me to get there I just wanted to get home safely.

So when the driver of the car made their first mistake to pull out in front of a car I expected them to realize their mistake and not do it again, however that is not what happened. Usually I make mistakes because I am hurrying or not paying enough attention to what I am doing. I pray that my mistakes don’t harm anyone and that I learn from them. My most valuable lessons have been learned from mistakes. I thank God that He gives us grace to learn how to live in a manner pleasing to Him.

1 John 1:9 (NKJV)

If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.

When it comes to sinning against God, we can mess up once in a while and still be forgiven. But we must recognize that what we did was a sin in order to confess it as such and receive our forgiveness. My prayer this week is that we will recognize our mess ups for what they are and change our behavior in order to avoid them the next time. Enjoy your week and I will be back next week with more.

Leave a Reply

