Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

Trusting and Waiting


 

2 CORINTHIANS 6 18

I spent the week reminding myself of being a daughter of God. Every time I started to get discouraged I told myself “I am God’s daughter”.  That started my mind in the right direction but was not enough. So in order to make this real to me I decided that I must look at scriptures that addressed the areas of my life that did not seem like a daughter of God’s life would look.

I focused in on two areas this week that are needs. The first is healing and the second is finances. As a child of God certain promises are available to me. So I searched out scriptures that would help remind me of this.  The promise of healing is available to me as a child of God.

Psalm 30:2 (NKJV)

“O Lord my God, I cried out to you, And you healed me.”

My plan is to add other verses every week because the Word can change a heart and mind. Acting like a child of God means that I must be a good steward of what God has given me whether it is financially or physically or spiritually.

Proverbs 21:20 (NKJV)

“There is desirable treasure, And oil in the dwelling of the wise, but the foolish man squanders it.”

I must make sure I am a good steward of what God has already given me, before I can ever expect any increase. If I am a child of God then I am righteous. Psalm 52 tells a lot about the righteous but I focused in on these verses this week.

Psalm 52:8-9 (NKJV)

But I am like a green olive tree in the house of God: I trust in the mercy of God forever and ever. I will praise you forever, because you have done it; and in the presence of Your saints I will wait on Your name, for it is good.

Two things stand out to me in this psalm about the righteous person. The first is being a green olive tree in the house of God. I know that olive trees produce olives and from them olive oil is produced. Olive oil is used for anointing and for burning to create light and was used with sacrifices in the Old Testament. So being an olive tree in the house of God means that a righteous person is very useful in the house of God.

The second thing that stands out is I will wait on Your name, for it is good. As I pondered this part of the verse I realized that the names of God describe his character. And the names of God that I am currently interested in are God as our provider and God as our healer. My take on this is there is waiting involved and good children of God will wait on the character of God. They need to show up and in the mean time they will be useful to God’s kingdom.

I am waiting on God’s name and trusting in his mercy this week. Join me on this journey. Enjoy your week and I will be back next week with more.

Leave a Reply

