Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

My Mama


img_0866Well it is another mother’s day. This year I wanted to reflect on my mama. She was my inspiration for birthing the desire to write. As a child I began admiring her for her research of the history of our town and the writings that she did as a result of that research. She published some books on history and tour guide books and brochures all based on her research. She also decided that the children in the town needed local history presented to them and wrote a curriculum that was added to the history classes with her as the teacher. She fought hard to preserve the old buildings in our historic town of Ste. Genevieve, MO.

At the top of her game she won national recognition by receiving the Gordon Gray Award in 1977 “for her efforts to educate her town about their 18th century French heritage through classes, publications and lectures.” (Preservation News)

She instilled in me things that I realize have shaped my life desires. She loved to research and find things that others missed or did not talk about. I embraced this quality and it has served me well throughout the years. Whether it is researching the Bible for inspiration or using research to help me be the best in my job. I am thankful that God allowed her to have six children, I am the sixth, even after they told her she could have no more than one.

We learn what we experience. All of us have seen failures in our parents but we can take the good and let it shape our lives or we can get stuck in the bad things that happen and never move on. I choose to take the good; the things that have helped me get through life with a smile. My mama loved me and always encouraged me. That does not mean that we always saw things eye to eye or always agreed, because we did not. But looking back she was my biggest cheerleader.

So on this mother’s day I say thank you to my Mama who is in heaven today. Thank you for never giving up on me and teaching me things that have shaped my life.

Proverbs 6:20 NASB

My son, observe the commandment of your father And do not forsake the teaching of your mother; 

Enjoy your week and I will be back next week with more.

Comments on: "My Mama" (2)

  1. Very fitting tribute, beautifully written!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

