Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

Peace in the Challenge


IMG_0764

As she opened her eyes she realized she was surrounded by monsters. At the foot of her bed she saw the most ugly brown and gray monster with patches of hair but mostly bald. When she turned her eyes to the left she saw a short green monster spotted with brown scales. She rolled her eyes to the right and saw a purple and black stripped monster reaching out to touch her. Feeling trapped and not knowing what to do she closed her eyes again and hoped they would leave. Opening them slowly and all three ugly monsters were still staring at her and moving closer.

She closed her eyes and began to pray. As her strength returned and she felt confident that God was directing her she opened her eyes again. That is when she noticed the monster at the foot of the bed was much smaller than she thought. The one on her left now just looked like a lizard and the one on the right looked more like an ugly small stuffed animal. Her perspective had changed and she felt that she could handle all of these monsters because she asked God for strength and wisdom and discernment. She threw back the covers and walked away from the monsters letting them know that they were not going to spoil her day.

The monsters in this story represent challenges the character was struggling with in her life.  Each one of us has challenges that we must conquer or overcome. In my life I have found the older I get the more challenging the challenges become, but also the more discernment I gain to understand that they are just challenges and not the end of the road.

The character in this story showed us the first step to overcoming challenges prayer. Challenges only become a problem when we don’t know how to meet them with peace. So here are some steps to meet and conquer challenges with peace.

Pray for God’s wisdom and strength and discernment in your life and specific situation.

Engage in Godly behavior no matter what is going on around you.

Always give God the Glory for every good thing.

Care for those around us even if they are the cause of the challenges.

Exit the stress by giving what you can’t handle to God.

Finding peace is a full time job but well worth it. Once we train our minds and hearts it will come naturally no matter what is going on around us.

John 14:27 (NKJV)

Peace I leave with you, My peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.

John 16:33 (NKJV)

These things I have spoken to you, that in Me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation; but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world.”

Knowing that Jesus has overcome the world and all its challenges gives me hope because I know that He lives in me and that means I can meet any challenges with His strength. I take my hope from God not from mankind. This gives me strength when it appears my world is falling apart. I can hold on to my peace knowing God still rules and reigns and my eternity is set with Him. With this faith I can have PEACE.

Enjoy your week and I will be back next week with more.

Leave a Reply

