Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children


proverbs 3 5 6THE GOOD (one example)

Back in 1990 I had suffered with knee pain that caused me to have to use crutches for a while. I had a knee surgery early in the year but the pain did not seem to subside. It was difficult to move without pain. Doctors said they had thought it was a break in cartilage but when they got into the knee found it was shredded cartilage and all they could do was scrape it and hope that would help. Later on that year I had a salvation experience and realized that God had healed me. The knee pain was gone and has only reappeared for short periods of time due to extreme weather changes. The good is God healed my knee when I decided to give my life to Him and serve Him.

THE BAD (one example)

A few years back my son joined the National Guard and then the Army. He spent time in both Iraq and Afghanistan. For a mother this is difficult to think of your child being in harm’s way. It makes you tend to think of all the bad things that could happen. I remember the day that he called me and told me that he was going to be deployed to Iraq. Bob and I were working together at the time on a remodel project. Luckily the homeowners were not at home to see my distress because of the phone call. I experienced fear and uncertainty. As the shock began to wear off I began to pray. Prayer is my expression of faith in God that he can do things that I cannot. He can reach into areas that where I have no control. He can protect, heal and deliver. I prayed for safety through the dangerous times and that if something bad would happen, causing injury or death that our family would be able to handle it with faith. Though there were some injuries in the process he made it home in decent condition. His service to the country has ended on a positive note and he is employed in another dangerous job, firefighter. One thing I have learned through the bad is to not focus on the bad that can happen, focus on trusting God through it all and you will experience amazing maturing growth.

Proverbs 3:5-6 tell us to trust in the Lord with all our hearts. No matter what happens good or bad remember that turning to God is the right thing to do. I turn to Him in the good with thanksgiving in my heart. I turn to Him in the bad with pleadings for courage and protection and strength. I turn to him when nothing is going on good or bad because I understand that a close relationship with Him is what I need to make it through every day. When I miss that time with God my days are usually out of sorts and unsure. But when I have my time in prayer and remember all day long that God is with me, things work better. 

I challenge you today to remember that God is with you through the good and the bad. I will be back next week with more.

 

Comments on: "Faith through the Good and the Bad" (1)

  1. SHUTTHATNEGATIVENOISEOFF! said:

    Amen ! A relationship with GOD is like oxygen, you need it to live; it goes with you everywhere.

    Abundant blessings, Emma

    Like

Leave a Reply

