Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

Oh No Nemo


IMG_2176Friday January 22, 2015 5:30am. The house was quiet and I was in the early stages of waking up before my 6am alarm. As I lay there trying to steal just a little more sleep the silence was broken by sudden loud yelping coming from the living room.

Jumping out of my bed I headed toward the horribly painful noise. Entering the living room I saw Nemo in the middle of the floor yelping and yelping with Bob standing next to him. It appeared that Nemo tried to jump onto the couch but did not make it.

I approached Nemo carefully and tried to pick him up, but he would not allow that. So after he calmed down a bit I coaxed him down the hall into his bed. He lay there for a while and calmed down. When he got up his body was curled into a “C” shape while he walked due to the pain.

After praying for a while I realized I had some pain medicine from when he had hurt himself another time.  I got the pill and his other medicine that he takes every day, but he was not interested in taking either. Finally I sat down next to him with the medicine covered in peanut butter and convinced him to take it.

My first reaction was to immediately take him to the vet, but I realized I had an appointment at work and could not take time off for this. It took all the faith I had to leave him at home in his cage and hope he would be ok for the day. Before I left he was sleeping from the pill.

This is one of the scriptures that helps me get through times like these.

Philippians 4:13 (NKJV)

I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

This scripture is based on faith in Jesus and all that he did on this earth. Jesus came to this earth showed us his perfect life of healing and deliverance, bled and died on the cross and rose to eternal life. If Jesus can do what he did and the same Holy Spirit that He had lives in me, then there is nothing in God’s will that cannot be accomplished in my life.

I had to trust that God would take care of Nemo when I could not be there with him and that I would be able to not worry about him all day.  I made it through the day without worry. He was still struggling when I got home from work but was a bit better on Saturday morning. I took him to the vet to make sure he was ok and she gave him some more medicine and told me to make sure he takes it easy for a week.

As I write this blog Nemo is walking better when I let him out to walk, so I believe he will be totally healed soon. Enjoy your week and I will be back next week with more.

Leave a Reply

