Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children


chris27

Blast from the past with the results of a chocolate chip cookie…Oh soooo good.

It always gets busy around the Holidays and this year is no different. I have spent this weekend taking care of two wonderful young grandchildren. Sneaking away for a few minutes while one is sleeping and PaPa has the other one, I though I would try to write.

I have been stressed alot lately and realized as I sat down to write that it is time to stop and smell the cookies. I love the smell of fresh baked cookies and the way they taste when they are fresh out of the oven. I love the way the vanilla and sugar make the the whole house smell. When I am baking  I am usually relaxed and enjoying myself because I am creating something most everyone in my household will love. That makes me happy.

When I grew up my mama  would bake cookies non-stop for I am not sure how long and give them away for presents. She would have every child in the house help with the process. It is some of my fondest memories. Of course we got to taste most of them as they were fresh and wonderful. My favorite cookie was the chocolate chip cookie. Just the way the chocolate would melt and the cookie would smell and feel, even after it was cooled and sat on the steps in tin can for weeks. It was awesome.

From time to time we just need to stop and smell the cookies to get a better prospective on life. A little sugar and shortening and flour can go a long way to help relieve stress. So as Christmas approaches take some time to just relax and enjoy the preparations and remember Jesus and what He has done for us.

Enjoy your week and don’t forget to stop and smell the cookies.

Leave a Reply

