Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

The “O” word


imageMy mind is fresh today with visions of two-year olds challenges. Sometimes when you are two it is difficult to do the right thing. Adults can explain until they are blue in the face why you should not do something, but all you hear is “don’t do what is fun to do”. Suddenly those pesky adults seem to change the rules and don’t want you to have fun. This is why parents are tested to their limit with little ones. I love my grandson and most of the time he is the best in the world but sometimes that ornery look shows up in his eyes and you know it isn’t going to be pretty.

For a two-year old the “O” word is bad. “O”bedience is difficult for most of us, at least at first. It is hard to understand what is good for us and what is not. I remember before I accepted Jesus’ salvation I did not want to be told what to do and when to do it. I wanted to do what I wanted to do and let the chips fall where they might.

However something happened to me. I realized that Jesus paid the price for my sin. That made all the difference in the world in my overall behavior. I began to understand that everything I do has a consequence and I better be more careful.  I realized that if I sin willfully I am not truly accepting what Jesus did for me and definitely not showing my appreciation for His sacrifice.

In this month of November with Thanksgiving coming upon us soon, I am thankful for grandchildren who can help me look back and see where I was and where I am now. I hope that you can look back too and see something wonderful that God has done in your life.

Enjoy your week and I will be back next week with more.

Comments on: "The “O” word" (2)

  1. jacquie85 said:

    Thanks for sharing. It’s hard to have perspective sometimes when you are in a battle of wills with a 2 year old. Thanks for watching them, they love you!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

