Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

I Want it My Way


footsteps not shoesIt seems that life rarely goes “my way”. Lately more often than not I am finding that the way it used to be, the way I liked it to be, are not the same as the way it is now. Life changes daily and I get frustrated with the changes. Here is an example. I used to be able to wear fashionable shoes that matched my outfits. Though I am not a “fashionista” I do want to look coordinated in what I wear.  Due to my ankle and foot issue I can only wear athletic shoes. Do you know how frustrating it is to feel like you look stupid everywhere you go? It is a challenge to try to figure out what I can put on that will look business like and still wear the athletic or walking shoes. 

Do you ever wonder if Jesus wanted to do things differently than He did? I think He showed great restraint in personal preferences by following the lead of His Father God.

John 5:19 (AMPLIFIED BIBLE)

19 So Jesus answered them by saying, “I assure you and most solemnly say to you, the Son can do nothing of Himself [of His own accord], unless it is something He sees the Father doing; for whatever things the Father does, the Son [in His turn] also does in the same way.

But there was a time when Jesus did try to get out of something and do it a different way, right before going to the cross. In his anguish He asked God for an out, but He did not get one.

Matthew 26:39 (AMPLIFIED BIBLE)

39 And after going a little farther, He fell face down and prayed, saying, “My Father, if it is possible [that is, consistent with Your will], let this cup pass from Me; yet not as I will, but as You will.”

As I sit and write this blog I realize that my fashion problem is nothing compare to what Jesus had to do. My worry about other people thinking I just don’t know how to dress properly is wrong. All the little things that have caused me frustration are nothing in the big scheme of things and I need to learn how to expect them to happen and deal with them and move on. This is just like bad news, I need to understand and prepare myself for the worst case scenario while doing all I can to change the situation. It helps to get a HIGHER PERSPECTIVE on life by reading the Bible.

Enjoy your week and I will be back next week with more.

Leave a Reply

