Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

Bad News, Don’t Worry


bad news trust GodWhat do you do when you get a sudden unexpected batch of bad news? My initial reaction to bad new is to want to tell someone how bad it is and how wrong it is. If you are like me you might struggle with keeping a positive attitude. I have been trying to change my attitude toward bad news. I want to look at them as challenges that I can overcome rather than the worst thing that ever happened.

Here is my plan. I am trying to keep my mouth closed and look at all the possible outcomes. Then I accept what the worst outcome could be and figure out how I could handle that. With that done, I set my mind on trying to do what I can to change the situation for a better outcome, but I am prepared for the worst if it happens.

Talking to God about the situation brings peace. Giving the situation to God is a little more difficult. I can say that I have not always been the best at this. But if giving situations to God means that I don’t worry about them, then I guess I am getting better at it.

Philippians 4:6-8 (NKJV)

Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.

Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy—meditate on these things

This scripture has to be lived out moment by moment. Every new situation gives me another opportunity to practice. I hope you will join me this week in fighting the battle against worry and anxiety. Enjoy your week and I will be back next week with more.

Comments on: "Bad News, Don’t Worry" (2)

  1. This is a daily challenge for me as well. But I love your advice of living out moment by moment. My mom would say, One step in front of another. One step in front of another. And soon you will be down the road. Loved this meditation Kitty!

    Like

Leave a Reply

