Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

Be Anxious for Nothing


After a long day at work I sat in my rocking chair hoping for a reprieve from stress and pain. As I sat and mindlessly stared at the TV my hand and foot both began to throb in unison. Worn out and not wanting to deal with either pain anymore I rated it a 10. The next day I scheduled a doctor appointment to see if there was anything that could be done to relieve the pain in both areas. Understand that I have been in physical therapy with my foot for more than a month and the pain level has not decreased but in some ways increased. My hand should have been healed by now but it was still causing major problems.

On Monday at my doctor appointment, out of the abundance of caution and fear of causing further damage to the hand I was given a doctor excuse to stay off work the rest of the week. First we did more x-rays that showed no breaks. Then we scheduled a MRI on Thursday. Having some claustrophobia a MRI is not something I would jump at doing due to the closed space.

Tuesday as I tried to occupy my mind I decluttered some areas of the house. While doing this I stumbled upon two sheets of paper full of scriptures. As I read them I realized that they were from a couple of years ago when I was waiting to have another MRI. As I read the first scripture my heart skipped a beat. It was exactly what I needed to hear.

Isaiah 41:13 (not sure of the version)

I am holding you by your right hand, I the Lord your God. And I say to you do not be afraid. I am here to help you!

From then until Thursday I read the scriptures several times. I felt more peace. I resigned myself to being sedated for the MRI. So I scheduled my daughter to be my chauffer and supporter through the process. As she was coming to get me she had a flat tire and was unsure if she would make it in time. Ok, I thought I can handle this. A couple of phone calls later she was on her way again thanks to the help of someone who worked at Burger King and her husband. She arrived at the house and got me to the imaging center on time. She could not stay with me however. She helped me fill out the paperwork then left to get her tire fixed. Knowing that I did not have a firm appointment and might have to wait a while I told her to go on.

I was feeling nervous but told her I would be ok. I pulled out the scriptures and began to read. My daughter hadn’t been gone long when I went back for the test. The guy who took me back asked how claustrophobic I was because it is hard to gauge how much medicine to give someone one and if they gave me too much I would fall asleep and my hand would twitch and it would take more time to get the pictures. I said that I would need to see the machine. I locked my purse in a locker and went into the room.

The machine was shorter than the last MRI machine and had a larger interior. I told him I might be able to do this. Then he told me I would have to lie on my stomach with my hand above my head. He said I could not have music because I could not wear the headphones in this position.  This did not seem too bad. After putting in the ear plugs I laid down. My heart raced and I fought the fear that was trying to take over.  I took some deep breaths and reminded myself that God is always with me. He gave me a panic bulb to squeeze with my left hand if I could not handle it and sent me into the machine.

Over and over again I repeated Isaiah 41:13 the best I could remember it. I almost fell asleep in the machine but the pain in my hand kept me awake. Finally he said “One more set of pictures and we will be done. I made it through the MRI without any medication. This is a big thing for me and I give God all the glory. I even opened my eyes and looked around in the machine a couple of times but still managed to stay still enough for the pictures.

On Saturday morning as I sat quietly and read my bible this scripture jumped off the page at me:

Philippians 4:6-8 (NKJV)

Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.

Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy—meditate on these things

I write this week as a testimony to God and his faithfulness to always work in our lives and give the needed encouragement. I hope that you will enjoy your week and I will be back next week with more.

Comments on: "Be Anxious for Nothing" (1)

  1. Those scriptures are much needed in my life. Thank you for sharing. Glad you got your MRI and everything is good!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

