Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children


act now dont save the dateA popular thing in today’s society is to send out “save the date” notices for weddings, in the hopes that people will not schedule anything else on this date so they can attend the wedding.  It is a great way to let people know that you want them to be available.

I realize the bible tells us God does not send out “save the date” notices to you. He expects each and every one of us to be ready at all times and not just “saving the date” for a future time. I have to ask myself if I am “saving the date” for some future event or am I living today and making the most of the time that has been given me.

What am I ready for? That is a good question. I remember back in 1990 my life turned upside down with major changes. I was not ready immediately but over a course of a few months I realized that the time was then for the beginning of my salvation from sin and dedication to walking with God.

I have been working out my salvation ever since then. This has meant that I needed to be ready at any given moment to follow the lead of the Holy Spirit and extend a helping hand to those around me. That helping hand has had many forms like physically helping others as needed, sharing the gospel and witnessing God grant salvation to someone, laying hands on the sick and watching God give them a healing, and sharing financial help when needed and anything else that God wants. It is not limited because people have diverse needs and if God wants to meet a need of any type in someone’s life He is going to look and see who is there to meet that need and use them.

This week I can think of many instances that God has allowed me to be his voice and hands as I went throughout my day. For this I am grateful. I ask you now to think back over your week about the opportunities that you have taken advantage of and shared God’s love. I can also think of some instances that I missed that will help me to do better next time.

Colossians 4:5-6 (NKJV)

Walk in wisdom toward those who are outside, redeeming the time. Let your speech always be with grace, seasoned with salt, that you may know how you ought to answer each one.

Enjoy your week and I will be back next week with more.

Leave a Reply

