Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children


psalm 34 8When I was a child I remember the Jewel Tea man coming to the house to deliver things that my mom would order. At the time he had some cookies that I really loved. I called them the “cookies with the name on them”. They were butternut cookies and had the word “Butternut” written on them. It would have been easier just to say “Butternut” but I could not read at the time so I always called them the “cookies with the name on them”.

It is a great memory of what seemed to be a simpler time in my life. Cookies hold precious memories in my life. My mom would bake cookies once a year, at Christmas. And when she baked it was monumental. But between those annual cookie times she would buy cookies from the store or the Jewel Tea man. I have not had a “cookie with the name on it” in years. The Jewel Tea Company stopped delivering in 1981 or 1982 all over the country. I think they stopped delivering in our town before that.

There are some things in this life that we will never experience again. For these things there are only our memories. But there are other things in this world that we have experienced and could still experience more but we make choices to keep these experiences few and far between. I know that unless something happens with those who made the “cookies with the name on it” I will never taste them again.

But there is something sweet in this world that I can taste daily, the goodness of the Lord. When I choose to trust the Lord and put my faith in him I experience the sweet taste of the goodness of the Lord. It is nothing like sugar or artificial sweeteners but it does make life so much easier to enjoy and endure.

Psalm 34:8

Oh, taste and see that the Lord is good;
Blessed is the man who trusts in Him!
Join me today in trusting in the Lord and experiencing the sweetness of His goodness. I will be back next week with more.

Leave a comment