Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

Future


IMG_2857Many things are swirling around in my head these days. I am studying for another certification and have all those facts and figures running around in my head. All this study related to elderly people has caused me to think about my retirement. My husband and I are thinking about our future and where we want to be and how we want to retire. I understand that some people actually have retirement funds and know where their money will come from in order to retire. Unfortunately this is not the case in our family. I started a retirement account years ago but when the markets went down so did the account. Eventually it closed because there was not enough money to keep it open.

Through the grace of God we are still kicking and paying our bills. Our goal is to find a way to live on very little income and have the land produce a lot of our sustenance. We are beginning our research now and hopefully in a few years we will have it all figured out and be able to retire.  The bible tells us that tomorrow is not guaranteed and that storing up riches does not produce security. That is a good thing because a store of riches appears to be missing from my equation.

I have always been someone who believed that God would supply what I need when I need it. I trust that He has my best interest in mind and have done without many things over the years because they just were not supplied with the income we had.

1 Timothy 6:17-21 (NKJV)

Command those who are rich in this present age not to be haughty, nor to trust in uncertain riches but in the living God, who gives us richly all things to enjoy. Let them do good, that they be rich in good works, ready to give, willing to share, storing up for themselves a good foundation for the time to come, that they may lay hold on eternal life.

O Timothy! Guard what was committed to your trust, avoiding the profane and idle babblings and contradictions of what is falsely called knowledge— by professing it some have strayed concerning the faith.

Grace be with you. Amen.

I think this has taught me how to be happy with little, but it hasn’t stopped me from trying to plan my future a bit. There is not a problem with planning for the future as long as we do not lose sight of God, who holds our future in His hands.  We make the plans and God orders our steps.

Psalm 37:23 (NKJV)

The steps of a good man are ordered by the Lord,
And He delights in his way.

God gave us this earth to produce food and sustain our lives and we should learn how to do just that. Enjoy your week and I will be back next week with more.

Leave a Reply

