Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

What Matters?


P1020365Roller coaster rides are fun and scary and entertaining to some. Some people ride them once and never want to ride again. Life can be a roller coaster. This week I have had highs and lows but through them all I have managed to stay generally calm.

Being at the top of a roller coaster is exciting to me because you are high up and can see for miles. Everything is clear and you know exactly where you are and what is around you. It makes planning easy because you can see all the obstacles. But those seconds at the top do not last long and suddenly you can find yourself helplessly falling straight down to the ground.  Now all you can do is hope that you remember the lay out so you don’t stumble. Then suddenly you find yourself on the way back up to another high spot where life is much clearer and you can feel free again.

It doesn’t matter what the issues are, whether they are from computers that don’t work right or miscommunication with others or just plain bad planning we all have those ups and downs.  The trick to enjoying life no matter what, is to understand what really matters.

Does it matter that I ended up taking four trips out to finish my errands or that I went to Wal-Mart and walked the entire store three times when I could have done it once? Does it matter that I tried to go to a store that wasn’t open yet or couldn’t get my hair cut when I wanted to? It matters a little but what matters more than that is how I handled the situations. My attitude and my understanding that these things are temporary and do not have a long-term effect on my life.

If this scripture guides my attitude I will be fine.

Proverbs 3:5-6 (NASB)

Trust in the Lord with all your heart
And do not lean on your own understanding.
In all your ways acknowledge Him,
And He will make your paths straight.

Sometimes straight paths have hills and valleys but they go the right direction. Remember those times on the top when life feels free and clear so that when you get to the bottom the sudden stop doesn’t throw you off.

Enjoy your week and I will be back next week with more.

Leave a Reply

