Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

Choices


Should I choose the red truck or the blue truck???

Should I choose the red truck or the blue truck???

Every day we make choices. In the morning alone I make several choices.

  • Do I read bible and pray in morning or sleep longer and do it when I go to bed at night
  • Do I exercise or not
  • Do I wear a dress or skirt or pants
  • Should my shirt be long sleeve or short sleeve
  • Should I wear shoes or boots or sandals
  • Should I wash my hair today or wait until tomorrow
  • Breakfast—should I eat cereal or egg and muffin or fruit or no breakfast or buy something on way to work
  • Should I walk the dog or just send him outside for a while
  • Should I take my lunch or should I eat out
  • Should I check traffic for my route to work or just get in my car and hope for the best

There are consequences for every choice. If I wear a skirt or dress on a really cold day I may shiver all day long. If I skip breakfast I may be hungry until lunch. If I do not walk the dog he may leave me a surprise on the floor when I get home.

There are things other things that I make choices on that have more severe consequences. One of them is how I will react to what happens in my life. If I take offense at a driver cutting me off on the freeway I may act badly and cause myself and the other driver harm. But If I react with caution I will keep myself from becoming a problem and be able to glorify God with my reaction to a bad situation.

Life is always changing . We have to adjust and not take offense with the changes. Looking at life from a different perspective can help. If we view the events that offend us from a higher perspective we will be less likely to take offense. God can look down and see that the driver that just cut me off is having a really bad day or is not feeling well or just lost a loved one, but I cannot see this. I may be upset because they almost caused me to wreck, but the fact is that God helped me through alert thinking to stay out of an accident. Focusing on the fact that I did not wreck removed my anger and added in the thankfulness that could keep me from being offended.

Proverbs 19:11 (NKJV)

The discretion of a man makes him slow to anger, And his glory is to overlook a transgression.
Join me in choising to make good decisions that will glorify God every day. Enjoy your week and I will be back next week with more.
Leave a Reply

