Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

How to Be Still


psalm 37 23My challenge for the week has been “being still”. My life does not stop or slow down even when God has instructed me to “Be still and know that I am God”.  Trying to make myself change thought patterns is a difficult job.

galatians 5 22 23Sometimes I wish that I were a dog. My dog Nemo only gets stressed when he wants food or wants to go outside or come back inside of the home. He usually is very still and rarely stresses. He barks occasionally when he is outside and scared.  He has food and water and gets medications that he needs and can spend his days sleeping or playing with his toys. For him to be still is easy.

psalm 91 11On the other hand, I have a job to complete at work and tasks at home that must be done. I no longer have children to care for but the older I get the more challenging the small things like keeping the home clean seem to be. It seems like my husband and I work all weekend around the home and shopping for food and cooking for the week and have little time for stress relieving things.

Both of our jobs can be stressful and the challenge is to not let that stress translate into bad attitudes over things we cannot change. I know that in my job there are elements out of my control that can affect my ability to complete my goals. These can cause stress on my shoulders if I do not remember that it is out of my hands. It is sometimes difficult to accept that I cannot complete what I have to do without the cooperation of others, whom I cannot control.

proverbs 3 5 6This is where I have to keep repeating to myself that God directs my steps. I have to remind myself often each day that I cannot control what happens all around me but I can control what I do and how I react. I trust that God will take care of what is going on and protect me. As long as I am doing the best that I can in everything that I do, I have to leave the rest up to God. I have noticed when I focus on God the stress of this world tends to lessen or be totally removed and I can move on with what is required of me.

Things to remember:

  1. God will direct my steps. Psalm 37:23
  2. I am in control of my actions and reaction. Galatians 5:22-23
  3. God will protect me. Psalm 91:11
  4. I must trust Him. Proverbs 3:5-6

Enjoy your week and I will be back next week with more.

Leave a Reply

