Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

STOP, DROP AND ROLL


SPARKIE BIBLEI consider myself a good cook and my family seemed to enjoy the meals I made for them. But I have made my share of incorrectly cooked meals.  I remember one time my daughter asked for pancakes the way I used to, with the goo in the middle.  I explained that there should not be goo in the middle and was upset with myself because I apparently had fed my children raw pancakes.

My oldest son got used to the way I fried chicken. In a conversation one day he told me he could not stand moist chicken. It was then that I realized when the children were little, I always over cooked my fried chicken. It wasn’t until later in life that I realized I was doing it wrong.

It is funny how we can do things for years without realizing there is a better way. Worrying is something that most of us get really good at over the years. But what if we could completely remove worry from our lives. Wouldn’t life be more exciting and happy? We could go about our business with a smile on our faces and really love and enjoy life.

If I had been more observant in my cooking my children wouldn’t have gotten some strange tastes, or maybe they would, who knows. But my point is that there is a better way. When we feel the need to worry, it is time to stop and change our minds.

Stop, drop and roll. Worry is like a fire that can consume our lives until there is nothing but ashes. So I propose that when the worry starts we stop, drop and roll.

STOP all fearful thoughts with the word of God.

DROP the burden that is trying to destroy you.

ROLL into the arms of God.

Matthew 6:25-34 (abbreviated here) (NKJV)

25 “Therefore I say to you, do not worry about your life…. 27 Which of you by worrying can add one cubit to his stature?… 34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.

1 Peter 5:6-7 (NKJV)

Therefore humble yourselves under the mighty hand of God, that He may exalt you in due time, casting all your care upon Him, for He cares for you.

2 Timothy 1:7 (NKJV)

For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind.

1 John 4:18 (NKJV)

There is no fear in love; but perfect love casts out fear, because fear involves torment. But he who fears has not been made perfect in love.

Matthew 11:30 (NKJV)

For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.”

David wrote many Psalms that reflect his trust in God and His ability to protect. Some of my favorites are Psalm 57, Psalm 91, and Psalm 32.

So join me this week in putting out that destroying fire and letting God take over. Enjoy your week and I will be back with more.

Leave a Reply

