Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children


psalm 32 8 teethThursday September 4, 2014 I went to the dentist to begin the process for a permanent cap on a tooth that was hurting when I chewed with it. After returning from vacation I called the dentist and told him the pain had increased tremendously since he put the temporary cap on. He put me on antibiotics. The pain did not go away, it just got worse.

On Monday, shortly after I prayed that God would guide me through my day, my husband reminded me to call the dentist about my continuing pain. I was unable to call on Monday. On Tuesday, I prayed again for God to guide me, my husband reminded me again and I found time just before work to call the dentist. The person who answered the phone said she would call me back after discussing the situation with the dentist. I went into work.

I noticed on my phone I had missed the call from the dentist and had to coax myself to call because I was afraid of what they would say. As I calmed myself I heard God say again, “I will guide you with My eye upon you.”  The dentist’s news was grim in my mind. He wanted to do a root canal the next day before putting on the permanent cap. I told them I would call back after checking to see if I could get off work. With encouragement from my husband and the all clear from the job I scheduled the appointment.

I began to pray for the dentist and assistants because they would be the ones performing the root canal. I arrived at the dentist’s office and the numbing began. I tried to drown out the noises by closing my eyes and talking to God. Once again He kept repeating to me, “I will guide you with My eye upon you.” Ok, God I trust you. Every time there was pain I looked up toward God and said, “Ok God you said you would guide me, please guide the dentist.” After two hours in the dental chair I was finished.

The rest of the day went pretty well until the tooth came out of the effects of the numbing agent, then the pain was ridiculous. I took the pain medication prescribed, but it did not help. I was in crazy pain until around 2 in the morning. I prayed, “God help me sleep and take away this pain.”

By morning the throbbing pain was gone, replaced by a local sensitivity over the tooth. I went to work looking like a zombie. As I discussed my situation with a co-worker God gently prompted me to make a decision. I realized that I must go home before I became a danger on the road. So I left work and when safely at home I went back to bed and slept.

God’s guidance can come from many sources. Just as in my example the first guidance came through a loving husband and the confirmation through the same person. The comforting knowledge that God was with me in the dentist’s chair warmed my heart and let me relax for the procedure. God guided me through the pain and through the bad decision to go to work. Now my tooth is feeling better and I give glory to God for what he has accomplished on my behalf through a dental procedure. He stretched my faith and tested my trust but I believe I passed the test.

Enjoy your week and I will be back next week with more.

Leave a Reply

