Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

Sharing Life


IMG_2587Last week I did not post a blog because I was off celebrating my wedding anniversary with Bob, my husband of 35 years.  We spent some time reminiscing about our younger life together and how all our children are grown and have blessed us with grandchildren. Life seems like a blur to me. I know I was there for the whole thing but some of the details are missing. It amazed me that Bob brought up some moments that stand out in his mind but I could not remember them. And likewise there are things I vividly remember that he does not. I guess that happens over time and those moments that we really remember are the ones that meant the most to us individually.

I remember our 21st year of marriage because in that year I had been with Bob for exactly half of my life. We have been through some really wonderful times and some of the toughest times of our lives. We have endured births, deaths, weddings, funerals, illnesses, and healings. I attribute my salvation and coming to know the Lord to my husband. He was searching for meaning and found salvation, which in turn changed the lives of all of our family.

I think of all these things and wonder about God who has seen every single moment of my life. What does he think about the ups and downs? Have I even understood every time that he has held me up and kept me from falling too far? I read through some journals a few weeks ago when Bob was out-of-town working. I found a letter that showed me how much he loved me. I did not remember the letter but remembered the general time of our lives. It was not what you would think of a love letter, it was a letter helping me put my priorities in order and not forget my responsibilities. As I read it I was reminded that God does the same with us with a pointed but loving reminder of necessary priorities in His Word. Every word of God’s word should lead us in a direction toward God and salvation.

Bob and I have grown together over the years and have learned, mostly, how to deal with each other. We still have our disputes and disagreements but they have not gotten in the way of our love and commitment to each other. With God, though our flesh does not always agree with God’s ways, we should always grow in our relationship and commitment to get closer to Him.

Enjoy your week and I will be back next week with more.

Comments on: "Sharing Life" (2)

  1. You are such a blessing to us Mom and Dad. And a reminder of how a marriage grows and matures. Can’t believe it has been 35 years (although I haven’t been around for all of it). You are both a blessing to us and your grandkids. We are so grateful for both of you and all the life lessons you have taught us. Happy late anniversary!

    Love

    Jacquie

    Like

Leave a Reply

