Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

Battles


bedSometimes after a very busy day it is hard to get your mind to slow down and relax. This week I experienced one of these days and the night that followed was not relaxing.  After completing all my work, eating supper, and finishing exercises I attempted to sleep. As the dark night lingered on, small things from the day came back to haunt me. They were little doubts about completing tasks correctly that turned into major horrifying events.

Did I do that right? Will someone come back and complain because I did something they did not want me to do? Pressures and worry filled my head as I tried but failed to sleep. Tossing and turning with torment reigning in my head, I went over and over the events of the day. Each time believing I did things correctly but somehow not able to find peace. I stopped and began to force my mind to other subjects only to have those turn into a different worry. Finally in the wee hours of the morning I slept, but not a good sleep. My dreams reflected the torment in my mind and did not give me rest.

After a short conversation with my husband I was able to push forward and got to the exhausting job of mowing the lawn. Physically spent from the mowing I collapsed onto the couch. Then with much struggle got up and showered and tried to make a list for groceries. Unable to make my list I left unsure of what I was going to buy. As I walked around the store my mind began to clear and I was able to make decisions and complete the necessary shopping. For the rest of the day as I worked around the house I watched and listened to uplifting movies and preaching.

I made it through the day finally realizing that I was in a spiritual battle. After a night of peaceful sleep I arose and went to church, not knowing what to expect. There was a guest speaker who seemed to know exactly what I needed to hear. One thing he was talking about was how through some torturous thoughts he was having about his son’s operation he went to a quiet place and drew a circle around himself and cried out to God for peace. And he got it.

1 Peter 4:12-13 The Message (MSG)

Friends, when life gets really difficult, don’t jump to the conclusion that God isn’t on the job. Instead, be glad that you are in the very thick of what Christ experienced. This is a spiritual refining process, with glory just around the corner.

As I reached out to God, He reached out to me and gave me true peace. We cannot fight spiritual battles by ourselves. We must recognize them for what they are and surround ourselves with the Word of God and others who will help in our battles.

I pray that your week will be one of peace in the midst of the battles.  I will be back next week with more.

 

Leave a Reply

