Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children


“Yawwww, I think I better stand up for a minute, maybe get a drink”, NeIMG_2008mo thought as he woke up from his midday nap. Click, click, click went his feet as he approached the water dish. It was empty. “Oh well I guess I will just eat something.” When his dry dog food was gone he thought, “Time to take another nap until someone comes in to give me water.”  He rested for a while and around supper time he got excited when he saw Bob and heard the can opener start. He started dancing, whining and crying. As usual the small bowl of wet food was placed between the water dish and the dry food dish. He immediately began to chow down. As he ate he wondered, “Will he fill my water dish?”

No, he did not fill the dish. “Ok I have another chance for the water dish to be filled. Miss Kitty will do it when she gets home…….. Oh I hear her at the door.” He jumped up and danced his way to the door. As he danced around her feet, she walked to the kitchen and put down her stuff. Then she noticed his dishes. He looked up at her hopefully. She took the empty food dish and filled it completely to the top and walked away.

Nemo thought again, “How will I get her to fill my water dish? Ok, I know what to do. I will go outside for a few minutes and when I come back in the dish will be full. It worked before.”  He cried by the door and was let out, then immediately he scratched to come back in. He ran to the dish, it was still empty. “Ok, plan B. Irritate Miss Kitty.” He walked around in front of her back and forth with begging eyes and she ignored him.  He waited until she  finished eating and walked toward the water dish. No help there. He watched her sit down and again and looked up with those ‘sad I need something’ eyes. She beckoned him to join her. He sat with his back to her and she began to scratch. “Awwwe this feels good,” he thought. After about a half hour he felt the pain of thirst again and jumped down.

IMG_2416This time he had a better plan. “I really itch and I need a drink. How can I get both of these things fixed at once.” Then it hit him like a lightning bolt. He ran into the hallway through the bathroom door and into the tub. He clicked and scratched around on the tub hoping she would hear him and turn on the water. He listened and nothing happened. Then the TV went quiet and he heard someone getting up. “Ok this is it, I will get my drink.” In his excitement he jumped out of the tub and walked out the door.  She shut the bathroom door and went back to her chair.

“NOOOOOOO!!!!!!!” He screamed inside his head. “Ok, I will wait until she heads for bed and then I will get her attention.” He watched and waited while keeping an eye on the water dish. As she went down the hallway and into the bedroom he ran in front of her and went into the master bathroom. He stood in front of the tub looking toward the tub and then back at her and then back toward the tub. She looked at him and a light went off in her head.  She said. “Lassie has Timmy fallen into the well?” Then she went into the other bathroom where he was usually given his bath.  He ran in after her and jumped in to the tub. When the water started running he began to drink and drink and drink. She looked at him and said, “Is your water dish empty?” After his bath he went to his water dish and it was full again.

I think Nemo needed a drink more than a bath but he was willing to sacrifice having to take a bath to get a drink. He taught me persistence. If you don’t get what you need you must keep trying until someone understands what you are asking for. I am glad that God supplies all of our needs and knows what we need before we ask.

Philippians 4:19 (NASB)

And my God will supply all your needs according to His riches in glory in Christ Jesus.

Luke 12:29-30 (NASB)

29 And do not seek what you will eat and what you will drink, and do not keep worrying.30 For all these things the nations of the world eagerly seek; but your Father knows that you need these things.

Enjoy your week and I will be back next week with more.

Leave a Reply

