Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

Special Assignments


The alley was dark and ominous. She walked bravely in the shadows toward the red door, looking carefully all around for anyone following her. As she approached the door she heard a noise and turned quickly to see a black cat running away from an overturned trash can. Taking a deep breath she calmed her nerves and knocked on the door. The door opened slightly revealing part of a face. “What is the password?” the person asked in a gruff manner. “The salt seas run quickly down to the ocean when the moon rises,” she responded.  The door opened and she went inside.

I conjure up this picture in my mind when I hear the phrase special assignment. I think about spies and good vs. evil and all that stuff from movies and spy novels. I think about the excitement and adventure of special assignments and special teams for certain purposes. I usually don’t think about my life and what I do day in and day out. But maybe I should.

Over the years I have bfamilyeen given several special assignments. One started when I committed to marriage with a wonderful man. Together we had three children.  The assignment of mothering these gifts from God is amazing.  With my husband we raised these children until they could make it on their own and then let them free to make their own lives.

Every child presents their own personality and challenges. I felt blessed that my children did not present too big of challenges and somehow managed to grow up into strong adults who are managing their own families. I know families who have been given some really challenging special assignments with their children.  There are some with autistic children, some with handicapped children, some with children suffering the effects of ADD and ADHD, some with medical conditions that threaten to take their lives. And as I look at each of these individual moms and dads I see in them special grace from God. I see the ability to handle what has happened and the strength to go through it.

I applaud these parents today and say to them remember this when you get tired.  God has given you a challenge He deems you worthy of handling. He provides the strength and peace that you need and helps you through the rough times so that you can help others through the same type of challenges. Be encouraged that God believed you strong enough for this special assignment and will build more strength in you through everything that comes your way.

Isaiah 40:31 (NASB)

Yet those who wait for the Lord
Will gain new strength;
They will mount up with wings like eagles,
They will run and not get tired,
They will walk and not become weary.

Be encouraged and I will be back next week with more.

Leave a Reply

