Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

Safety in Obedience


IMG_2401Suddenly through the music she heard the screeching of brakes and honking of a car horn. But it was too late. The car swerved toward the curb but couldn’t veer far enough away to miss her.  May had been practicing her figure eight skating techniques in the middle of the street with her music playing in her ear buds. She wasn’t watching traffic because there usually wasn’t much on her street. Now in this moment of pain and fear she wished she had listened to her parent’s warnings. Maybe they did know more that her.  She had always thought them to be worry-warts and opted to disobey because the street offered a much better surface than the cracked driveway. She would forever regret not listening to them and now realized they were just trying to take care of her.

Though disappointed in her disobedience, her parents were more concerned about her health. They thought she understood that the limit was for her safety. Now they would suffer with her though her healing time and hope she would not be permanently physically and emotionally damaged from it. More than that they prayed she would learn to listen to authority.

God gives us limits in our lives also for our safety. He guides us with His eye upon us. Sometimes we don’t listen to His voice and suffer the consequences of our actions.

Psalm 32:8 (NASB)

I will instruct you and teach you in the way which you should go; I will counsel you with My eye upon you.

As I write I realized the responsibility that I have as a parent and it shows me that I would never desire to be God. I cannot fathom the vastness of his wisdom and the infinity of his supernatural ability. It is a humbling thing to realize that anytime I would say no to God I would be saying no to the only one who really knows what is going on and can direct my path.

It is easy to know your parent’s voice because they are physically with you. However sometimes it can seem difficult to know God’s voice. Setting aside time with God will help ensure you know His voice. Once you realize that He has your best interest at heart obeying will become easy.

Enjoy your week and I will be back next week with more.

Leave a Reply

