Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children


memory clock calendar“Saturday, Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday”—wait why am I thinking this? As I woke up this morning I realized that sometimes I am reciting a list from memory when I wake up. Is this a subconscious way of waking me up? Is it my mind’s way of bringing me out of relaxing sleep into the ordered reality in which I live?

From the time I was a child I was taught to memorize things so that I could function in society. I learned my “ABC’s”. I memorized my numbers and multiplication tables. I learned how to convert the numbers on a clock so that I could tell time. I memorized rules and regulations to stay out of trouble. I learned how to phonetically spell and memorize the spelling of those other words that did not work with phonetics. I memorized speeches and tour guide narratives for jobs.  I have memorized jokes to make other’s laugh.

I am sure that you are like me with memorizing many facts and some useless information that all gets stored in our heads. Even as I began to seriously engage in being a Christian I was taught that I should memorize bible verses. So I started one verse at a time. I learned those cool verses that seemed to speak to what I needed. My first verse was:

Proverbs 3:5-6 (NKJV)

5Trust in the Lord with all your heart,
And lean not on your own understanding;
In all your ways acknowledge Him,
And He shall direct your paths.

This verse speaks to all the memorization that I have done that put information into my head. God says not to lean on our own understanding but acknowledge Him and He will take care of things. My brain has been taught since childhood to understand certain things from a human perspective and I rely on that understanding to make it through this life. So how can I not lean on that? How can I live life without using my brain?

I do not believe God is telling me to not use my brain. I believe he is actually telling me to relax and trust because my brain doesn’t understand everything. Even though my brain tells me one thing I have to realize that God has more information and understanding than me and I can trust that He will guide me and direct me.

Though I cannot stop my brain from reciting lists as it wakes me up I can fill it with God’s word and trust in the truth that if I trust in Him with all my heart He will direct my paths.  I find comfort in living under the influence of God’s word especially with all the struggles of this life. I hope it has been comfort to you. Enjoy your week and I will be back next week with more.

Leave a Reply

