Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children


IMG_2299I am a little late in posting my blog this week because my computer appears to be functioning under the influence of a virus. Needless to say this caused a little delay. It is interesting that I have been thinking about influences and even tried to write my blog this morning to no avail. My computer is an example of being under the influence of something bad that slows it down and makes it difficult to get things done. But what I wanted to write about today is good influences.

We all have influences in our lives. Our family and friends and co-workers and fellow church members etc… all influence our lives. You know that if you drive under the influence of alcohol you can get in big trouble (DUI). But what I do is LUI. I Live Under the Influence of the Holy Spirit.

When I think back to my childhood, even though I did not know it I was living under the influence of the Holy Spirit. All of my steps were ordered by God and God’s protection was evident in my life. As I grew older the Holy Spirit’s influence was slowly getting more obvious. Then finally when I was married with children I recognized it. I experienced the greatest gift given to man, salvation. From that time forward the Holy Spirit’s influence has been predominate in my life.

For years I have followed the lead of the Holy Spirit and watched life unfold in amazing ways. I have watched the influence of the Holy Spirit lead me to people who needed to hear what I would say. I experienced Him guide me to the right place at just the right time. And I have watched as the Holy Spirit has influenced others to speak a timely message to me. After all these years of living under the influence I cannot imagine not having that help around me.

If you don’t think you live under the influence of the Holy Spirit, say a prayer and ask God to show you. I bet that you will find God has been using His Spirit to influence your life for years.

Just to clarify. The Holy Spirit’s influence only goes as far as you let it. He can tell you what you need to hear but you have the choice to accept and move on the influence. Unlike the influence of drinking too much alcohol and losing control of your senses, being under the influence of the Holy Spirit brings true freedom, adventure, excitement and direction.

John 16:12-15

12 “I have much more to say to you, more than you can now bear. 13 But when he, the Spirit of truth, comes, he will guide you into all the truth. He will not speak on his own; he will speak only what he hears, and he will tell you what is yet to come. 14 He will glorify me because it is from me that he will receive what he will make known to you. 15 All that belongs to the Father is mine. That is why I said the Spirit will receive from me what he will make known to you.”

Is the Holy Spirit the biggest influence on your life?

Enjoy your week and I will be back next week with more.

Leave a Reply

