Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

Weeding and Redeeming


irisesDo you ever feel like you are always late? I do. I looked out today and my irises were blooming and I realized that I had not removed the old blooms from last year. I looked up on the internet what I should have done and found out that I should have cut them back shortly after they finished blooming. I am late once again. Hopefully after a vigorous trimming they will once again look good and bloom well.

There are so many things to do to maintain a garden. I guess that is why I rarely have a garden of any type. It seems these days I am just too busy to pay attention to things that don’t walk in front of me and demand my attention.

Am I the only one that finds it hard to remember to water a plant in my house or to weed a garden or maintain those little things? I bet I am not. When I was younger my children took all of my time and effort. Then my ministry took all my time. Now my job and basic things take my time. The older I get the harder it is to have the endurance to complete many tasks after a full day at work.

We seem to not have enough time to do all that we want to do. And some days being so used to having no time we waste time not remembering those things we did not have time for previously. Then after wasting time we realize what we could have done. It seems to be a vicious circle. To bring this to a biblical perspective here are two scriptures.

Ecclesiastes 3 (NIV)

1 There is a time for everything,
and a season for every activity under the heavens:

    a time to be born and a time to die,
    a time to plant and a time to uproot,
    a time to kill and a time to heal,
a time to tear down and a time to build,
    a time to weep and a time to laugh,
a time to mourn and a time to dance,
    a time to scatter stones and a time to gather them,
a time to embrace and a time to refrain from embracing,
    a time to search and a time to give up,
a time to keep and a time to throw away,
    a time to tear and a time to mend,
a time to be silent and a time to speak,
    a time to love and a time to hate,
a time for war and a time for peace.

Ephesians 5:15-16

15 Be very careful, then, how you live—not as unwise but as wise, 16 making the most of every opportunity, because the days are evil. (NIV)

Understanding that we should be careful how we live our lives and how we spend every moment should really make us think about what we are doing. Just like I should pay more attention to the things under my care such as my irises so we should all pay attention to each moment of our lives to make sure we are not wasting opportunity to share God’s love.

Enjoy your week and I will be back next week with more.

Leave a Reply

