Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

A Little at a Time


eating progressionEverything happens a little at a time. When we were in our mothers’ wombs we grew a little at a time until somewhere around nine months after conception we were born. Then as a baby with help we slowly learn how to eat with a bottle, then with our hands, then with utensils and eventually prepare our own food. We didn’t just come out of the womb ready to prepare a three course dinner for the family.

My husband reminded me this morning that I needed to make progress a little at a time. I like things fast but I can handle slow if I know how to get where I am going. Thanks to his statement I was able to remember that I can do things slowly.  Not too long ago I spent months of therapy getting the movement back into my arm after suffering from frozen shoulder. I understood there was a process and went through the pain because I knew what the result would be. I trusted my doctor to guide my steps.

I am struggling with some physical issues that do not have any medical remedy except surgery and that remedy is not in any way guaranteed to help the situation. This issue has caused an inability to do the exercises that help other parts of my body function correctly. It is somewhat of a downward spiral that I am trying to stop and begin to move back up to the top again.

I have to rely on God to show me what to do and what not to do. I am relying on my ability to hear and obey.  The road can be unclear and full of pot holes at times. My biggest obstacle is that I do not like trial and error. What I want is a clear plan, a map that shows me all the obstacles and the clear path to success.

Proverbs 16:9

In their hearts humans plan their course,
    but the Lord establishes their steps.

With this scripture in mind I will begin today to plan my course and believe that God will establish my steps.

Trust and Obey by Big Daddy Weave

“Trust and obey, for there’s no other way
To be happy in Jesus, but to trust and obey.”

This song comes to mind and fits so appropriately into what I need to do. Going slowly through life is a struggle and I appreciate your prayers to help me through. I can feel it when people are praying for me because it is easier to make my way through the difficult times. Enjoy your week and I will be back next week with more.

Comments on: "A Little at a Time" (2)

  1. You are going to get through this mom! I am praying for you!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

