Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

Trust and Hope


 

Trust

Trust

Proverbs 13:12 (NIV)

Hope deferred makes the heart sick, but a longing fulfilled is a tree of life.

Proverbs 3:5:6 (NIV)

Trust in the Lord with all your heart
    and lean not on your own understanding;
in all your ways submit to him,
    and he will make your paths straight.

Hope comes out of trusting and believing.

We trust in things. As I sat down in my chair to type this blog I trusted that the chair would hold me up and not cause me to fall on the floor.  When I go to my car in the morning to head to work I trust that it will start and get me there. When I sit at my computer I trust that it will work the way it should.

We trust in organizations and they trust in us. I trust the company I work for will pay me on payday and provide the promised benefits of the job and in return they trust me to come to work and perform.  We trust churches to supply spiritual support and assistance and they trust us to assist with the work of the ministry.

We trust in individuals. Because of our relationship I trust my husband to be faithful and caring toward me and he expects the same from me. I love and trust my children and grandchildren and I expect the same from them. I trust my friends to be honest and supportive and they trust me to do the same.

We trust in ourselves to do what we know and to be successful.  Self-esteem and ego are driving forces in our lives. Some trust very heavily in themselves to accomplish everything which makes them hard to be around. Some trust very little in their own abilities and tend to not go far in life. There is a balance in this area that is needed.

Some people stop with trusting things, organizations, individuals and themselves. This is sad because things will fail and break down, organizations will break apart and disappear, and individuals will come and go, and one person can only go so far on their own strength and abilities.

A realistic trust in things will tell us that the thing will wear out or break eventually.  A realistic trust in organizations will tell us that they can and will fail under certain circumstances.  A realistic trust in individuals should expect failures and understand how to work through them.  A realistic trust in ourselves lets us know that it is ok to fail but we have to pick ourselves up, forgive ourselves and go on.  Understanding the level of trust helps us to keep our hope or expectations in check.

What about trusting in God who cannot fail? Logically this seems to be the best place to put our trust.
Luke 1:37 (NIV)

For no word from God will ever fail.”

Luke 12:33 (NIV)

Sell your possessions and give to the poor. Provide purses for yourselves that will not wear out, a treasure in heaven that will never fail, where no thief comes near and no moth destroys.

If we put all our trust in this world we know that it will fail. We all get sucked into trusting in our abilities to earn money or figure out solutions or find a reason for pain and illness. When we can’t do something our next tier of assistance seems naturally to look to those around us. Sometimes we look to professionals and friends and family and things that can relieve our concerns. But when they fail some have nowhere to go and despair of life itself.  They lose all hope because their hope was exhausted.

Hope placed firmly in the hands of God will never be disappointed. God sent His Son Jesus to save us from our sins. Jesus showed that healing and deliverance from the evil in this world is possible. He showed that faith can save and deliver. Trust breeds faith which breeds hope which keeps us going.

I had a discouraging week but believe that God has awakened me to trust in Him more than all else and He will bring me through. I hope that his blog has served to encourage you as much as it has me. Enjoy your week and I will be back next week with more.

Leave a Reply

