Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

Christmas and Jesus


joel christmasChristmas is upon us. All the hustle and bustle of the season has hit us all at once. I thought this year I had a jump on the presents and stuff only to realize that I wasn’t as prepared as I had hoped. All week I watched as my co-workers deliver little treats to everyone. As I thought about it I realized that I was not prepared. I had Christmas cards somewhere but can’t remember where. I felt the desire to share something with my co-workers/friends at work and did not know what.  So I spent most of my day yesterday baking cookies and making peanut butter balls.

But even though the cookies and candy are made that really has nothing to do with the reason for the season. The food and the presents help us to celebrate something wonderful that happened over 2000 years ago. It is amazing that something that happened that long ago still has a huge effect on today’s society. The real reason for this season is the birth of our Lord Jesus Christ. The amazing story of a baby born in a manger in Bethlehem still changes lives today. His birth was just the beginning of an amazing life that taught so many the real meaning of living.

Some of us exist—this is to say we get by. We do what needs to be done in order to make it day by day, month by month and year by year. Jesus lived life to the fullest. He was not only physically on this earth but he was also spiritually aware which changed the dynamic of living as we know it. I realize that Jesus walked this earth thousands of years ago and societies are different now, but when you look at the core they really aren’t that different. The technology has changed but the basics of life have not.

Let’s look at what Jesus did that we can learn from:

  • Jesus did not spend a lot of time with those who thought they had life figured out. He spent his time with those who struggled with this life teaching them a better way.
  • Jesus rebuked the religious for living out of ritual alone and having no real connection in their heart with the actions of their religious life.
  • He raised the bar on living life to the fullest. He spoke about giving his followers an abundant life. Abundant life does not refer to earthly things but to full physical and spiritual existence.

John 10:10 “The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I came that they may have life, and have it abundantly.”

Merry Christmas!!! Enjoy your holiday. I will be back next week with more.

Leave a Reply

