Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

Fear Will Not Win


holding hands onlyImagine with me if you will the following scenario. You are anxious the night before you have to do something that terrifies you. Then while lying in bed trying to sleep you have a sudden fear attack. You know in your mind that what you are thinking is unreasonable. You seek help and someone tries to reason with you over your fear. You look them in the eyes and say, “This fear is unreasonable. I know there is no reason for this ridiculous fear but I need help to get out of it.” Then you remember there is something stronger than any fear. You remember that God has not given you a spirit of fear but of power and of love and of a sound mind. You need a sound mind. So with help you go to the scriptures and find all you can that relate to fear. And as you begin to read them and pray for strength you feel a peace overwhelm you. Suddenly you know in your mind and heart that the fear you had was worse than what you will go through the next day.

I have experienced this first hand and I wanted to share some scriptures this week that have helped me overcome fear.

(All scriptures are New Living Translation)

Isaiah 41:13

For I hold you by your right hand—
    I, the Lord your God.
And I say to you,
    ‘Don’t be afraid. I am here to help you.

Psalm 46:1

God is our refuge and strength,
    always ready to help in times of trouble.

Isaiah 43:2

When you go through deep waters,
    I will be with you.
When you go through rivers of difficulty,
    you will not drown.
When you walk through the fire of oppression,
    you will not be burned up;
    the flames will not consume you.

Psalm 91:4

He will cover you with his feathers.
    He will shelter you with his wings.
    His faithful promises are your armor and protection.

Isaiah 49:16

See, I have written your name on the palms of my hands.
    Always in my mind is a picture of Jerusalem’s walls in ruins.

Nahum 1:7

The Lord is good,
    a strong refuge when trouble comes.
    He is close to those who trust in him.

Philippians 4:6-7

 Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.

2 Timothy 1:7

For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love, and self-discipline.

Philippians 4:13

 For I can do everything through Christ,who gives me strength.

John 8:31

Jesus said to the people who believed in him, “You are truly my disciples if you remain faithful to my teachings. 32 And you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.”

John 12:27-28

“Now my soul is deeply troubled. Should I pray, ‘Father, save me from this hour’? But this is the very reason I came! 28 Father, bring glory to your name.”

Then a voice spoke from heaven, saying, “I have already brought glory to my name, and I will do so again.”

Enjoy your week and remember that God is in control. I’ll be back next week with more.

Leave a Reply

