Inspiration, Christianity and My Life, Children

Rag Doll


raggedy annWhen we were kids my sister Barbara and I would play rag doll.  I was the rag doll because I was the littlest one. I don’t remember how it all started but I do remember that I would go limp and she would try to make me move. She would pick me up and begin to move my arms around. Then she would try to move my feet and make me walk. It must have been funny to watch. My body was completely stress-free. It was fun to see how she could move me around and to feel the struggle that she had to do it. And if she tried to do anything like make me hit myself I could take control again.

As I prayed the other night that memory came to mind and I realized that sometimes I take on too much stress. I want to be like that rag doll again. And then I wondered, if I could trust my sister to move me around and not harm me, why is it so hard to trust God to help me?

A friend was praying for me the other day and sent me an encouraging text message. This is a part of it: “…The Spirit of the Lord is encamped all around u! Providing strength, healing, courage, focus, faith, comfort, and most importantly love…Get plenty of rest and don’t worry about things that are not in ur control! God is in control!”

I can’t tell you how many times I have gone back to my phone to read that. Just the other night as I was trying to go to sleep, I had a sudden fear come over me. I got up and walked around, and then I realized I was in a battle in my mind. I turned the light back on and opened the light of God’s word. With a cup of tea my husband made for me I sat and read the following:

Isaiah 26:3 (NKJV)

You will keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on You, because he trusts in You.

At that moment I realized that my mind had been on me and not on God. I had spent my time thinking about the problem (my health) when I should have thought about the solution (my Lord).  God has directed this rag doll for years. So why would He stop now? As peace enveloped me I nodded off to sleep.

I covet your prayers as I walk through this physical struggle and I say in faith that I will be back next week with more.

Leave a Reply

